Monday, May 23, 2011

Mabe wins the 4th Annual Lee Hyder Memorial!!

Lee Hyder Memorial IV
by Bill Taylor

May 20-22, 2011

The fourth annual Lee Hyder Memorial was held May 20th thru 22nd 2011 in it’s new location of Columbia, South Carolina at the Hilton Garden Inn, Harbison. This hotel is becoming a favorite for Columbia tournaments with a convenient location for traveling players and excellent accommodations.

The tournament had a good turn-out with 31 players competing in three sections.

The Open Section had a strong field of 13 players including the current SC state champion Dr. Phillip Lamby and current NC state co-champion NM Chris Mabe. Other notable players were current SC senior state co-champs Klaus Pohl and Wayne Christensen, Donny Gray of Georgia and area newcomer Ananth Pappu.

The top prize was claimed by Chris Mabe with 4.0 points followed closely by Ananth Pappu and Dr. Phillip Lamby with 3.5 points each.

The U1800 Section was well represented with 10 players. Christian Ruel of Aiken took first place in the section, second place for the section was shared by Bobby Halliday and Mike Eberhardinger.

The tournament was rounded out by 8 players in the U1400 section with top prize going to Greg Blythe.

There were several upcoming tournament announcements made. These included the SC Class Championship in July, the Columbia Open in August and the NC Open in September. Check the SC and NC state websites for details on these and other upcoming events.

Thanks to everyone that attended and helped with LHM IV, the full results are shown below.


No comments:

Post a Comment